37e5512bdb964e62c328a8b3e21e1268

I started to write an end-of-year recap post months ago, and for some reason, every time I would try to add more, I would feel exhausted and exit out of it. 2019 was beautiful, refreshing, and painful. I intended to provide details, but I believe these points are self-explanatory.

  • I ended toxic connections that were emotionally manipulative and abusive.
  • I strengthened my friendships and gained new, magical ones.
  • I grew to find power in uncomfortable conversations.
  • I learned to trust my inner knowing.
  • I struggled with forgiveness, and I learned that I still haven’t forgiven some people who have hurt me.
  • I learned to be more vulnerable with myself and others.
  • I overcame a lot of my fears.
  • I experienced a lot of rejection.
  • I overcame multiple dark periods.
  • I learned to be a better friend to myself.
  • I fell in love with my body.
  • My control issues resurfaced.
  • I struggled with balancing my mental and physical health.
  • My pride and ego got bruised, over and over.
  • I checked off all of my internal and external goals for 2019.
  • I chose love.
  • I chose myself.

2019 was an emotional rollercoaster but necessary for my growth. A lot of things and people had to be released from my life for me to receive new blessings. I’ve learned the importance of letting go, no matter how hard it is to do. There were times in the past when I felt like I was suffocating. I didn’t realize a lot of that had to do with me not taking the initiative to choose better for myself. I was putting everyone before myself, and it left me feeling empty. This year, I was able to show up for myself without feeling bad for my decisions. It was all worth it. I know that 2020 will be met with obstacles, and I’m thankful I have the tools and experiences to help me deal with them accordingly. I’m in a place where I trust myself, which eliminates the fear I had in uncertainty.

My overall goal for 2020 is to strive to be better. I want to be sure that I show up for myself. I wholeheartedly stick by the mindset that if I am creating room for me to grow, that everything will align with me. Everything that is mine already has my name on it. My only job is to do my part to be in a place to receive it, whatever that looks like.

Leave a comment